Classroom Walls

What do your classroom walls look like? My walls are a mixture of Mary Englebreit/DJ Inkers (perhaps even too much for the liking of some) and “organic wall charts”. Organic, you say? Jeff Anderson suggests in his book, Mechanically Inclined, that walls should be covered in wall charts that are made in class, with the kids, and that are constantly growing and changing. I agree. I also, however, like to create a welcoming/comforting appeal in my room as well (hence the ME/DJ Inkers and bright colors).

I’ve been doing things very differently this year: lots more notebooking, mini-lessons, wall charts, using mentor text, integrating subjects, modeling with my own writing, “gem-hunting”, etc. I am happy with how it is going so far. But, it’s also a bit risky. The other day I was sitting in my room, looking around at what we had done so far this year (displayed on the walls), and I started to feel myself panic. What if this doesn’t work? What if the way we are doing things this year just totally bombs? I’ve only had so much training.

Then, I thought about the training that I have. It was good training. Well-renowned training with research and practice to back it. Plus, I have had some amazing mentors and I am simply following in their footsteps. I breathe a little more easily now, but a part of me is still sitting on the edge of my seat in suspense, waiting to see what happens.

Anyway, take a look at some pictures from my room. What do you think?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

